A digital bill of rights?

I picked this one up from @KerryAtDell (who I met in 2011 at a social media conference) who tweeted a link to a blogpost at “Our Digital Rights” on a possible digital bill of rights from across the pond.

I’ve listed the key points as below, but credit http://ourdigitalrights.org as the source of the original article. (I am not the originator – just a signpost!)

 

Digital Bill of Rights

Preamble

This Digital Bill of Rights applies to the sanctity of the digital self.

The digital self should be afforded equal standing as the physical self before the law and society.

Rights

1. Right to transparency

  • I have the right to know who collects, uses, shares, or monetizes my data and how they do so
  • I have the right to know how my data is protected and secured
  • I have the right to know the value of my data

2. Right to privacy

  • I have the right to privacy by default

3. Right to choice and control

  • I have the right to give and withdraw permission to collect, use, share or monetize my data
  • I have the right to view, access, correct, edit, verify, export and delete my data
  • I have the right to own and/or use freely the “golden copy” of my data
  • I have the right to buy the product or app and not “be the product”

4. Right to safety

  • I have the right to expect my data to be stored and transported securely

5. Right to identity

  • I have the right to have different personas in context
  • I have the right to anonymity

6. Right to minimal use

  • I have the right to have my data collected, used, shared or monetized only for the specified purpose and context
  • I have the right to be forgotten after my data has served its purpose

 

What do you think of the above? Is there anything missing? Is there something that you would want to take out? What about “A digital bill of responsibilities” to cover things like trolling & hate?

Leave a Reply

